# васкground Information: кепуа

- Kenya became independent from Great Britain on December 12<sup>th</sup>, 1963 under the leadership of Jomo Kenyatta.
- Kenya has recently experienced many changes in its government.
  - The new constitution (2010) introduced significant legislative changes, such as a new bicameral legislature, the abolishment of the prime minister, and switching from 8 provinces to 47 counties ("Districts of Kenya").
- Kenya is currently a democratic republic with an elected president and a bicameral legislature.

# BACKGROUND INFORMATION: SOUTH AFRICA

- South Africa became independent from Great Britain in 1910.
- Until 1994, South Africa had an oligarchy that was controlled by the white leaders of Apartheid. Today, the racially segregated government has ended and South Africa is a democracy.

# DISTRIBUTION OF POWER: KENYA

- Kenya has a unitary system, which means that the national (central) government holds all of the power.
  - The counties (districts) are under central government control.
- There are 47 counties in Kenya.
  - The counties are called "Districts of Kenya" and are headed by governors, much like states in the US.

# DISTRIBUTION OF POWER: SOUTH AFRICA

- South Africa has a unitary system, which means that the national (central) government holds all of the power.
  - The provinces are under central government control.
- There are 9 provinces in South Africa.

# туре оғ government: кепуа

Presidential Democracy

- The citizens directly elect the president (every 5 years).
  - The last election was in March 2013 (next to be held in 2018).
- The president works separately from Kenya's Parliament.

# TYPE OF GOVERNMENT: SOUTH AFRICA

Parliamentary Democracy

- The political party with the most members in the National Assembly elects the President.
- This is the major difference between a Presidential Democracy and a Parliamentary Democracy!
  - o Parliamentary Democracy legislature chooses the executive leader

#### EXECUTIVE Branch: кепуа

1. **President**: holds the most political power; the president is both the chief executive and the head of state.

2. Vice President: helps in the day-to-day running of the government; performs ceremonial duties



Uhuru Kenyatta

Kenya's 4<sup>th</sup> President

#### EXECUTIVE BRANCH: SOUTH AFRICA

1. **President**: holds the most political power, is the head of government and head of state, & is the leader of the party with the most seats in National Assembly

2. **Deputy President:** helps in the day-to-day running of the government; performs ceremonial duties



Cyril Ramaphosa

South Africa's President

### HOW IS THE HEAD OF GOVERNMENT CHOSEN: KENYA

- **President:** elected by popular vote for a five-year term (eligible for a second term)
- Vice President: appointed by the president
- The citizens directly elect the president (every 5 years).
  - The last election was in March 2013 (next to be held in 2018).
- The president works separately from Kenya's Parliament.

#### HOW IS THE HEAD OF GOVERNMENT CHOSEN: SOUTH AFRICA

- **President:** leader of the party with the most seats in the National Assembly; serves a five-year term (no more than two terms)
- **Deputy President**: appointed by the president
- The political party with the most members in the National Assembly elects the President.
- This is the major difference between a Presidential Democracy and a Parliamentary Democracy!
  - o Parliamentary Democracy legislature chooses the executive leader

### LEGISLATIVE BRANCH: KENYA

- The Parliament of Kenya is the country's bicameral legislature.
- It consists of:
  - 1. Senate (67 seats) 47 members directly elected by their counties, 16 women nominated by the political parties, 2 members to represent the youth, and 2 members to represent persons with disabilities.
  - National Assembly (349 seats) 290 elected from the constituencies, 47 women elected from the counties, and 12 nominated representatives
- Members serve five-year terms.



Inside Kenya's Parliament

# Legislative branch: кепуа

- The Parliament of South Africa is the country's bicameral legislature.
- It consists of:
  - National Council of Provinces (90 seats) the upper house of Parliament; each of the 9 provinces elect 10 members.
  - 2. National Assembly (400 seats) the lower house of Parliament; is elected every five years by a system of party-proportional representation



National Assembly Chamber

### ROLE OF CITIZEN: KENYA

- Citizens must be 18 to vote, but voting is not required by law.
- As a democracy, its citizens can participate in voting and elections:
  - The citizens vote for the president, as well as for members of the parliament.
- Even though Kenya is a democracy, the citizens do not have too much say in the government.
  - Much of the decision-making process is made by the president and his party.
- Freedoms are written into the constitution, but government is dominated by the president.
  - However, there have been improvements in citizens' rights in recent years.

## ROLE OF CITIZEN: SOUTH AFRICA

- Citizens must be 18 to vote, but voting is not required by law.
- As a democracy, its citizens can participate in voting and elections:
  - The citizens vote for members of the National Assembly (parliament), who then elects the president.
- Personal freedoms are more numerous in South Africa since Apartheid (legal separation of the races) has ended.
- Unfortunately, even though Apartheid has ended, much of South Africa's wealth does not reach the black population.
  - This has caused a very low standard of living among half of the country's population.